Latest Articles
Today Popular Video

Parliament House

Delhi Tourism - Tuesday, November 03, 2009 11:42:09 AM

Parliament House DelhiParliament House, also known as Sansad Bhawan, is a place where the Indian Parliament meet. It is located on the northwest of Vijay Chow and at the end of the Parliament Street, the Sansad Marg.

Parliament House was designed by Herbert Baker and was opened in 1927. It was originally called as Circular House. It was not included in the original plans of Edwin Lutyen, but was passed after the Montague-Chelmsford Reforms in 1919.

Structure of Parliament House
Parliament House is a colonnaded building that comprises of 3 semicircular chambers for the Legislatures i.e. the Lok Sabha (House of the People) and Rajya Sabha (Upper House). There is Central Library in the centre that is crowned by 27.4 m high dome. The house is 173m in diameter and is build on an area of 2.02 hectares. Colonnaded verandah encloses the entire circumference. There are 144 columns in the verandah that surrounds the three chambers.

Visitors at Parliament House
Entry to Parliament House is free, but it requires official permission whether Parliament is in season or not. Visitors are only allowed to enter the public galleries after getting the official pass. There is no photography charge but prior permission is required.

Foreigners can get permission from their embassies or High commissions. Citizens can collect passes from the reception office on Rasina Road by providing a letter of introduction from a Member of Parliament.

How to Reach Parliament House(Sansad Bhawan)
The local buses, auto-rickshaw and taxis are available for Parliament House from various locations.

Nearest Metro Station : Rajiv Chowk
Nearest Railway Station : New Delhi Railway Station
Nearest Airport : Indira Gandhi International Airport

2022 DelhiHelp

Recommended Articles


Today's Poll
  • Are online Tutions for kids beneficiary?