Latest Articles
Today Popular Video

Commonwealth Games 2010, New Delhi, India

Latest Events - Tuesday, April 06, 2010 6:29:31 AM


Commonwealth Games 2010 that is to be held in India. Information that will make you a part of the international event the whole world is waiting for. The event that involves the elite of the athletes and the best of the nations. The Commonwealth Games is a multi-sport event held every four years involving the elite athletes of the Commonwealth of Nations. The first such event, then known as the British Empire Games, was held in 1930. The name changed to British Empire and Commonwealth Games in 1954, to British Commonwealth Games in 1978 and assumed the current name of the Commonwealth Games in 1978.
There are currently 53 members of the Commonwealth of Nations, and 71 teams participate in the Games. The four constituent countries of the United Kingdom - England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland - send separate teams to the Commonwealth Games (unlike at the Olympic Games, where the United Kingdom sends a single team), and individual teams are also sent from the British Crown dependencies - Guernsey, Jersey and the Isle of Man - and many of the British overseas territories. The Australian external territory of Norfolk Island also sends its own team, as do the Cook Islands and Niue, two states in free association with New Zealand. Only six teams have attended every Commonwealth Games: Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales. Australia has been the highest scoring team for ten games, England for seven and Canada for one. At the 1930 games, women competed in Swimming and Diving only. From 1934, women also competed in some Athletics events
The 2010 Commonwealth Games are going to be held in Delhi, India with a population of over 15 million, compared to (2006 games hosts) Melbourne's 3.7 million and Greater Manchester's 2.5 million population at the 2002 games. New Delhi is beaming with pride to host the Commonwealth Games 2010. India's distinct culture, where the traditional is successfully combined with the modern, will make the Delhi Games special. Right now what you see and really experience are the infra structural changes that are taking place, to be honest, on daily basis. But now we even have news from across the country informing us about the preparation of athelets.Delhi is the capital city of India and is rich in culture and history. It stands on the western end of the Gangetic Plain and is bordered by the states of Uttar Pradesh and Haryana. There are two main districts of the city, Old Delhi the capital of Muslim India between the mid 17th and late 19th centuries with its historic sites, mosques and monuments and New Delhi, the imperial city created by the British Raj with its imposing government buildings and tree lined avenues.

The proposed dates for the Games are 3 - 14 October 2010 inclusive of the Opening and Closing Ceremonies. Weather wise the city experiences an October mean temperature minimum 17.2 degrees centigrade and maximum 31.3 degrees centigrade with humidity ranging from 31 to 78% for the October and November months. The Delhi Games Village is to be constructed as a low rise medium development on a 40 acre site in the heart of the capital with a possible capacity for 8,500 athletes and officials. Existing and new stadium will be used to house the following sports:
Aquatics, Athletics, Badminton, Bowls, Boxing, Cycling, EAD Events, Gymnastics, Hockey, Netball, Rugby 7s, Shooting, Squash, Table Tennis and Weightlifting.

Some FAQ on Common Wealth Game:

What is the Commonwealth Games Federation?
The Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) is the organisation that is responsible for the direction and control of the Commonwealth Games. The CGF is the supreme authority in all matters concerning the Commonwealth games. In effect the CGF “owns” the Commonwealth Games in the same way as the International Olympic Committee “owns” the Olympic Games.What is Common Wealth Game 2010?

What is Common Wealth Game 2010?
The commonwealth is NOT a political union of any sort, and it does not allow exercise of any power over the affairs of the organization's members. As it looks like, the organization is not made to influence any country economically or politically or to practice the strength of one country over the other but it is meant to establish and strengthen a friendly relationship between the member countries to help each others in future.
What are the Commonwealth Games?
The Commonwealth Games is a unique, friendly, world class, multi-sports Games, which is held once every four years.
What is the Name of the mascot for 2010 Commonwealth Games?
The 2010 Commonwealth Games mascot is a friendly tiger named Shera. Shera is a Royal Bengal Tiger, the national animal of India, who is depicted wearing a white sporting jersey and blue shorts.
When was the first Games held?
The first Commonwealth Games was held in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada in 1930.
How many times has the Commonwealth Games been held?
The 2002 Commonwealth Games was the 17th occasion on which the Games have been celebrated.
Where was the last Games held?
The 2006 Commonwealth Games were in Melbourne, Australia. The 2002 Games were in Manchester, England.
How many people take part in the Commonwealth Games?
Almost 6000 athletes and officials representing 72 countries and territories took part in the 2002 Games in Manchester. This was the biggest sporting event ever staged in the United Kingdom.
How are the Games funded?
Through the sale of international broadcasting rights; corporate sponsorship programmes; ticket sales; licensing and merchandising sales; and contributions from Central and Local Government.


2021 DelhiHelp


3:22PM 18/11/10 niraj in how many events india took part

Today's Poll
  • Are online Tutions for kids beneficiary?